Responsibility in Hip-hop

“What am I responsible for?” The question boggles my mind whenever I am thinking about the media’s delivery of certain issues. We discuss and talk about society for the majority of class and we consequently forget to analyze ourselves. Taking this class and reading the pieces assigned has made me aware that I am not proud of what I am indirectly responsible for, but in a sense I also know that I am not alone. I am stuck in an odd position as a hip-hop fanatic. It is because of hip-hop that a lot of what Patricia Collins states is true. Black males proving themselves by conquering women and “getting paid” are things echoed by song lyrics. It is such an accepted truth that I don’t even need a citation. Being a fan of the music automatically, but indirectly, supports the societal pressures set upon black youth to prove their masculinity. The more we consume, the more it is produced, causing the chain to continue. I guess the even bigger question is, how can we break this chain? The first step begins with all hip-hop fans acknowledging there is a problem needing to be fixed.

Citations:

Hill Collins, Patricia. Black Sexual Politics: African Americans Gender and the New Racism. New York: Routledge, 2005.

Leave a Reply

