The Target “Kind of Holiday”

I wanted to write this post about an advertisement I really like for a product I use and enjoy, and examine the gender implications I may have overlooked. I often wonder how my outlook has been influenced in the past, and if it is changeable (or if it even should be altered).

Through this thought process, I came to this advertisement for Target from this holiday season.

The ad definitely takes some positive steps: some racial diversity, son baking with mother, and sections with non-distinct gender lines.

However, there were some other obvious gender normative scenes as well but I think that any progress is good, and only our efforts over time will allow for greater changes.

Leave a Reply

